GQ Magazine Interviews Our Very Own UNCLE STEVE

COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE HEAVY HITTER

Wouldn’t it be nice to be uncle Steve? He has a celebrity status amongst building owners in Colorado Springs.

Seriously… He walked into my office today and told me he is in the middle of writing 11 leases… Seriously, 11 leases… really? How does he do it? What’s the secret to Uncle Steve’s success?

I thought I would share a recent article written by GQ magazine about this 50-year-old, Commercial Real Estate heavy hitter and what he had to say about life, love and the pursuit of happiness:

Steve Leigh, GQ magazine

The Uncle you never had

GQ: WHAT’S A DAY IN THE LIFE LIKE FOR STEVE LEIGH:

Uncle Steve (US): I get up, write a couple leases, and then hit the Santa Fe Trail for a late lunch walk. I end the day with an ice cold Coors Light while answering building owner fan mail.

GQ: HOW DO YOU DO IT? BY THAT WE MEAN GET AND KEEP SO MANY LISTINGS?!

US: Well, pretty simple. When you have my looks and charm, it’s ain’t rocket science.

GQ: WHO’s YOUR FAVORITE CO-BROKER AT HOFF & LEIGH?

US: Too many choices to pick a favorite. Whitney is very smart, Holly is lots of fun, but then of course, you can’t forget Todd Ogden; Togden. Now there is a man. He’s brought me a lot of free lunches so I’m gonna go with Togden.

GQ: SO FOOD IS THE WAY TO YOUR HEART?

US: It can be; that, or a big lease that I double-end, which is often.

GQ: WHAT’S IT LIKE TO BE SUCH A HUGE CELEBRITY IN THE WORLD OF COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE?

US: It’s tough. People want me – all the time. Not just for my brains, either.

GQ: WHAT DO YOU MEAN, “NOT JUST FOR YOUR BRAINS, EITHER?”

US: Some people like what you might call my “North Dakota” accent. Graying hair is also coming back into style. Read between the lines.

GQ: SOME PEOPLE SAY YOU ARE THE NEXT DONALD TRUMP MEETS MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. WHY?

US: I can only speculate why many would say I’m like “The Donald.” More that likely it’s because my house is furnished with lots of gold. Obviously, I have a lot in common with Martin Luther King Jr.

GQ: CAN YOU LEAVE US WITH ONE OF YOUR NUGGETS OF WISDOM BEFORE WE WRAP THIS UP?

US: A man’s best friend isn’t really a dog.

What do you think?

